There are 25 languages spoken in Guatemala. Spanish is the official and most spoken language. In addition, there are 22 different Mayan languages as well as two other Indigenous languages – Garífuna and Xinca. The maps, documents, and datasets below provide information about languages spoken throughout the country. The wording of questions asked in the census makes it impossible to verify whether any sections of the population are monolingual in languages other than Spanish.

Language data allows humanitarian organizations to better understand the languages people speak and understand, leading to better programming and accountability. We’re working with University College London’s Centre for Translation Studies and others to make language data more easily accessible and usable.

For more information, read about the project on our blog or contact

Maps and resources:

Interactive map of Mayan languages spoken in Guatemala.

Static map of languages spoken in the area affected by the Fuego Volcano Eruption, 6 June 2018.